Three Levels of Patience

Prajna allows us to truly know how life comes and goes, and it is only with prajna that we can have the strength to face the realities of life. To survive in this world we need both wisdom and power to alleviate our hardships and overcome adverse situations.

Patience gives us both wisdom and strength.

Buddhism speaks of three levels of patience.

The first is patience for life, which is a form of patience that acknowledges that conditions are a part of life. For example, to show up for work, we must get up early to catch the bus, and even if it is unpleasant it is a normal part of life. We must be patient with all kinds of discomfort like traffic jams, cold and heat, lack of sleep, differences of opinion, friendship, enmity, love, and hate. In order to move on with our lives, we must have patience for life.

The next level of patience is called patience for phenomena. Besides just maintaining our existence we must be able to live freely. We must be patient with greed, anger, ignorance, and prejudice by controlling ourselves, persuading ourselves, and changing ourselves. Having patience for phenomena means recognizing that all phenomena arise and cease. With this understanding we can allow the mind to find peace by no longer being affected by this arising and ceasing. Not only should we be unaffected by birth, old age, sickness, death, sadness, distress, fame, fortune, and the vagaries of human emotion, but we should be able to truly acknowledge, handle, and eliminate them.

The third and final level is patience for the non-arising of phenomena. This kind of patience is the highest level of patience and the understanding that phenomena fundamentally do not arise or cease. With patience for the non-arising of phenomena, there is really nothing to be patient or impatient about, since everything is simply just as it is.

When these three levels of patience are taken together, patience for life is the endurance needed to survive in the world, patience for phenomena transforms our consciousness into wisdom with the Buddhist teachings, and patience for the non-arising of phenomena is a state of freedom where we perceive all things as fundamentally neither arising nor ceasing. With this final level of patience, everywhere becomes a Pure Land, and we can be completely free and at ease.

Right now, every group in the world, including academic circles, political circles, religious circles, and others, advocate for peace. However, most of these groups only advocate for peace with an eye towards their own self-interests. This is why we don’t have peace. Only the teachings on non-self, compassion, respect, and tolerance, and especially the equality that comes from prajna (the ultimate wisdom), is up to the challenge.

Without exception, everything that is noble, great, and profound, is based on equality. The sun shines everywhere on the earth equally, the air is for all of us to breathe equally, the flowing waters moisten all things equally, and the earth supports all living beings equally. The Buddha too understood equality, and stated that anyone from the four different castes of India became part of his family when they joined the monastic order. There must be the equality that comes from prajna before there can be any hope of peace for this world, or any ray of light for humanity. Only by laying a foundation of equality will there come a day when peace can truly be realized and not only be an empty slogan.

From For All Living Beings, written by Venerable Master Hsing Yun.

Image from Pixabay.

More Featured Articles

In fact, what I have enjoyed the most in my reading, and it could be said that a piece of writing that has had an important influence upon my life is the poem “Thoughts on My Fiftieth Birthday,” written by Venerable Master Taixu during his visit to India when the Read more
If we want to understand what the Dharma teaches us about building affinity and living in harmony with others, we must first understand the four great all-embracing virtues. The Buddha teaches that for us to realize our true capacity of connecting with and serving our fellow citizens, we have to Read more
One of the great advantages of sitting meditation is that you can take it with you wherever you go. Whether you are in a forest deep in the mountains or beside a stream among the grass and reeds, you can develop meditative concentration just by sitting down and crossing your Read more
We need to change and transform ourselves continuously: In order to achieve eventual perfection, we need to work on correcting our bad habits. Read more
If someone who holds firmly to the name of Avalokit­esvara were to find themselves in a fire, no matter how big, they need not fear being burned by it because of the Bodhi­sattva’s awe-inspiring spiritual powers. Specifically the passage describes one who “upholds the name.” The Chinese character chi (持), Read more
Harmful attachments are often described in Buddhist literature as impediments or hindrances because they block our view of the truth and prevent us from seeing our own Buddha nature. Read more
Offering lamps at Buddhist temples and stupas is a common practice. The Flower Adornment Sutra says, "The lamp of wisdom can break through all forms of darkness." As such, lamps represent the light of wisdom that pierces through the darkness of ignorance. This empowers sentient beings encumbered by confusion. The Read more
Dharma is for people. There is one thing about the Dharma that I am completely sure of: the Dharma is for people. The Buddha’s teachings are not a cold philosophy designed merely to rearrange the concepts in our minds, they are a living act of compassion intended to show us Read more
Although "compassion is the foundation of Buddhism" is a popular slogan, compassion is not the exclusive property of Buddhists. It is a common treasure shared by all sentient beings. Because there is compassion in this world, life is full of meaning. As we endure the trials and tribulations life offers Read more
Many of us think that after undertaking the precepts life will become a matter of you-can’t-do-this and you-can’t-do-that. We wonder if that isn’t limiting us even more. We worry that it will mean a loss of freedom. This is why some people will question: Why should I receive the precepts Read more
While the Four Noble Truths explain the phenomena of the universe, the Buddha expounded on them mainly as a guide for life. It is inadequate, however, to merely learn the Four Noble Truths. We must resolve, cultivate and practice accordingly. We must end the causes of suffering, practice the path, Read more
Anger is distinguished from greed in that anger is a form of revulsion created by something we do not like while greed is a form of attraction brought on by something we do like. In this limited sense, and in this sense only, greed can be said to be “better Read more